Openflexure Microscope High Resolution vs Basic

Hello all. I’m a Biology teacher looking at building a Openflexure microscope for use in my school’s science classes, however I had a couple questions to help establish what configuration we need to prevent wasting money as schools are exactly fountains of wealth. We already have class sets of fairly budget microscopes that the kids can use but my thought was that the Openflexure microscope would be ideal for class demonstrations to complement the hands-on microscope work to allow for more complex microscopy to be carried out or to illustrate key features of cells etc. by connecting it to classroom projectors.

1 - Is there any significant advantages between using the Raspberry Pi 2 vs the Raspberry Pi 4? I’m aware the 4 has significantly more performance but will a Pi 2 hamper the usage of the Openflexure software? We can source a Pi 2 for free but would need to purchase a Pi 4.

2 - I’m terms of the image quality is the jump in image quality between the “High Resolution” configuration and the “Basic” configuration worth the jump in cost (around £40 by my estimate)? Our usage would focus on examination of pond water and various plant, animal, fungal cells and the larger organelles within them.

3 - I see there are developments on a next version of the OpenFlexure microscope is it worth holding off on printing and assembling the microscope to wait for this version to be released?

Thanks in advance for any help you folks can give me.

1 Like

Hi @Parzival I have not got a complete answer to your question, but some thoughts.

The Pi 2 will struggle. I use a Pi 3B+, and that is quite slow if you are using it as a standalone microscope, so that the Pi is operating the microscope and providing a desktop to a screen. It manages well if I don’t make it run the desktop and connect from another computer.