OpenFlexure Microscope for soil samples

I an excited to build a microscope to use to look at microbes in soil. I am not a scientist, rather I love making things with 3d Printers, code, nuts-n-bolts.

I currently have a Swift 380T microscope that I use at 40x to 400x. It takes about 400x to start seeing the bacteria swim around. The microbes also have 3D depth in the water.

I thought the OpenFlexure design is amazing and am hoping this will work. I also like it being raspberry pi based/python.

There seem to be modifications to the OpenFlexure microscope that might be beneficial as well as does it make sense to fit it for microscope optics?

Basically, where would you start if you were interested in videoing and imaging microbes in soil? Thank you.

I am glad you are looking to use the Openflexure microscope. If you are starting with printing new parts, I would recommend the version 7 design A new alpha! v7.0.0-alpha2 - Announcements - OpenFlexure Forum. It is still labelled as an Alpha release, but we have now built several and there are no real issues in the hardware. Most of the instructions are a lot better than the V6 release on the main website. If you have any problems you can always drop in here for advice!

Your previous experience has suggested that a 40x objective lens is needed. You may be able to get away with the Raspberry Pi lens, which has a roughly equivalent field of view to a 20x objective, but does have remarkably good resolution. It is quick to try anyway, you just need to print the low cost optics part. @nanocastro has posted in this forum on soil microscopy, with a nice guide linked from that post.