Crowdfunding a new OpenFlexure-family Microscope

Hello everyone,

As some of you know I am no longer working at the university on the microscope full time. I am now a freelancer, and am trying to find as much time as possible to work on open projects.

Recently experiment.com launched a low-cost tools for science challenge on their crowdfunding site. They want people to develop new tools. One thing we are regularly asked for in the OpenFlexure project is a microscope to look at bigger things like bugs and circuit boards. When we took the OpenFlexure to Panama, we met scientists studying orchid bees using dissection microscopes, they would love a low-cost portable microscope they could take into the field.

Working with Andy Quitmeyer who runs a field station in Panama, we have launched a fundraiser to develop an OpenFlexure-family Dissection Microscope:

The microscope will:

• Be totally open so you can build one yourself
  • Have clear documentation to enable it to be built easily
  • Focus on good quality mechanics so the microscope is easy to use

If you are able to, please consider supporting us.

Thank you

7 Likes

I guess a bigger working distance may be needed for this application. As part of the design process for a microfluidic workstation, we tested the RPi cam and other lenses to keep a compact design.

Here is a little contribution to community knowledge:

3 Likes

I’ve definitely spent quite a lot of time answering people who are curious about a lower-magnification system, and explaining that OpenFlexure could do it, but there are probably much better ways to do it. It would be awesome if Julian was able to come up with something that solved this problem with his customary quality of engineering :slight_smile:

3 Likes