What about a Light Field camera option?

I’m no expert but as I understand it, light field cameras record both direction and intensity information about incoming light. As such, one of the things that you can do is focus after the photo has been taken! Through a microscope I believe that one can extract images that focus at different depths. Layering these images back together allows for the creation of images that are in focus at all depths.

I taught a class with kids where they collected benthic macroinvertebrates from river beds to look for sensitive and indicator species. We did this in three different places within the watershed, farm, forest, and suburban. It was a great success save for one major concern that the kids had. They didn’t want to put the invertebrates in alcohol. Standard pictures would not have had the depth of focus required to identify them correctly. We needed an expert as it was.

I’m wondering if one could put a light field camera (Or a regular camera modified to take light field pictures) on the openflexure microscope. Light field video or maybe a burst of images would allow us to focus after the fact and layer multiple images to get a larger depth of field. Under a microscope, they are much thicker than the typical depth of focus (not sure that I’m using the correct terms here. There is a “plane” where an image is in focus. That “plane” has limited thickness. When the sample is thicker than that region only part of the object is in focus.) Does this seem possible?

It would also make for some amazing pictures.

@Albercook that sounds like a fantastic project. I don’t know much about light field cameras, but one way to get the focusing after taking images is to just take multiple images at different positions in focus. The Openflexure software has a built-in stack-and-scan module that will automatically take a set of images at different positions and different focus.