Experimenting with Dark Field and Polarized microscopy with Modularized condenser (no LED grid)

Disclaimer: I am new to microscopy and optics etc. Just making all this as hobby cuz I am really interested (since I was a child). Made everything on a resin printer so might or might not work directly on FDM

Hey! So I finally made my openflexure microscope v7 (beta1) with high res optics (though cheap 40x objective). I then learned about other kinds of microscopy including dark field, polarizing, phase contrast etc, so curious and wanting to try them out, I dug a little deep as how to upgrade my current scope for these. I am starting with Dark field and Polarizing microscopy for now, and wanted to share my experiments and experiences with the forum.

Openflexure project provides an LED grid solution for dark field, but I couldn’t source the original LED grid, and didnt wanted to port the code for alternatives, so I decided to make modular versions of the condenser module, one in which the Lens gripper is seperate from the condenser body, and add a condenser diaphragm/annulus in between the space (or anything else for that matter). Afterall, for dark field, the light needs to be indirect, and many traditional solutions are similar to this. But the original condenser in Openflexure is only for 5mm LED or an LED board (which I dont have), which won’t give enough illumination for an anulus based design. So some designing and lots of failed prints later, I designed an 8mm compatible illumination system, with detachable Lens Gripper, and a 3d printed annulus to go in between.
I also tried adding a linear polarizer instead of the annulus, and another linear polarizer in the gap between the objective and the tube lens in the unmodified optics module. Rotating the gripper allows to tweak how much light passes. When at 90 degrees, no light can pass unless its ‘unpolarized’ by something in between (the sample), thus giving us polarized microscopy. Inspired by this video: