Upgrading basic build

Hello,
I am planning to build a microscope and was looking for some advice. I would like to start with the basic build and depending on my use, possibly upgrade to motorised, then to an objective tube. If I print the base with the motor mounts should future upgrades be straightforward?

I was also wondering if there was a gallery of images taken with various configurations.

Thanks,
Rob

The main body is the same for all versions. The base is either 30 or 45mm deep. For infinity corrected objectives you need the deep base, but the extra depth is not a problem for other configurations.

Thanks, Iā€™ll start with the 45mm deep base. I suspect I might want to build a high resolution version but I am relatively new to 3d printing and Raspberry Pi so I will try a basic build before I invest in the extra parts.

Is the beam splitter main body also compatible with the basic build? If so then I think I might as well print that as well.

I thought it was, but the standard body is not compatible with reflection. The reflection version is compatible with all other versions, so print that. It is under ā€˜advancedā€™ in the configurator.

1 Like

Iā€™m now wondering if I should be thinking about the delta stage. Is there a good reason not to start with a basic delta stage build if it might be a better choice for more advanced microscopy methods?

Regarding ā€œinvesting in the extra partsā€, consider that they are dirt cheap (motors, drivers, arduino clone together will run about 15ā‚¬), but take some weeks to arrive from China if you order them there.

Regarding ā€œnew to 3D printingā€, the main body is a taxing part and takes a long time to print ā€“ so you better have your printer dialed in and verified with the ā€œjust_leg_test.stlā€ before you run into frustration there.

Have fun,

cm.

1 Like