Microscope V7 vs Delta

Hello, I’m wanting to build a scope but I an completely undecided on which version I should go for… I like the sound of the delta since it seems to be more stable but it seems like it may be a bit behind the microscope’s development? Any suggestions? I’m new to all of this stuff but I love to tinker… a lot… so getting into everything imaginable is not out of the question and I want to build the flavor that best supports that.

Also, any suggestions at objectives?

I was looking at these but I’m not sure if they will work since the parfocal distance is not specified

Thanks!

Hi @Garvolian. You are right that the cartesian Microscope is further developed than the Delta stage microscope. The electronics and hardware are pretty much the same for both, so if you change your mind it is mainly a matter of more printing, which is not the expensive part of the build. In practice there is not a noticeable lack of stability in the cartesian version when imaging with objectives up to 100×.

A lot of people do use Amscope lenses, they should detail the parfocal distance somewhere. It might be better to get single lenses than a set, it is not easy to change objectives in the main Openflexure designs, so you will have to chose what you want to be able to see. Getting one lens would mean that you might be able to go for the next step up in lens quality.