Flat Top Microscope | IIBM UC | Chile

[UPDATED] Hey everyone! :raising_hand_man:t4: I hope you are doing well. Since @r.w.bowman released the flat-top microscope documentation, I always wanted to build one.

This semester, we will offer droplet microfluidics workshops, and this OpenFlexure version is convenient for this application. We don’t still have access to the FabLab, so I printed the plates for our prototype, making it more expensive. As soon as we have a new version, we will share some pictures in this thread.

The plates are normally fabricated on acrylic, but if you want to print them, then the STL and STEP files are available on this repository: https://grabcad.com/library/plates-of-flat-top-microscope-1

3 Likes

This looks stunning!

I am new to this and cannot wait to build mine.

Neat :slight_smile: I think that’s the first replication outside my lab of that one - it’s a somewhat neglected design but I think it has a lot of potential. I would love to see someone pair it with a stepper motor stage (like a 3D printer one) to get wide area scanning.

2 Likes

This is probably a dumb question… would it be feasible to add a short throw XY motion capability to the optic head? As in make the lens & camera translate in X and Y in addition to Z. That way the microscope could be used to image over a small area (of the larger flat object placed on the surface). Perhaps using an epi-illumination setup, with the stage attached to (hanging down from) the bottom of the flat platform. Nominally, the motion controller and rpi would not also be suspended from the platform to keep the mass low.

1 Like