Choosing Excitation & Emission filters…

… specifically for cyanobacteria and/or chlorophyll-a?

I’ve nearly completed my first delta stage microscope (also my first open source project period) and I’m really excited because this has been a long process of learning & acquiring both skills and parts. I never went to college and I’ve more or less stumbled into being an (extremely) amateur biologist, so I’ve been carefully collecting material on fluorescence microscopy — though this is pretty challenging because i have no background or frame of reference for a lot of the academic material. This brings me to my dilemma:

How do I choose my excitation and emission filters so that they match the purpose of what I’m using the microscope for: observing local microalgae/cyanobacteria (really anything in the pondwater though)? By digging through the many open source fluorometer projects I was able to atleast narrow down the excitation filter i need for observing chlorophyll-a (#19 red from the roscolux booklet) but now I’m at a loss for the emission filter.

Does anyone have any experience they could quickly share?

i want to contribute something so let me add that when building the reflection module I found using a dremel way easier than the suggested oil glass cutter recommended in the instructions. the beam splitter is such a small piece of glass and the budget-friendly tool i sprung for wasn’t delicate/accurate enough. the dremel was much simpler in case anyone else is having problems with cutting the glass*

Thank you for everything.

Thanks for posting @spinoza, and thanks for the tip on the Dremel. I’ve never used one to cut glass, so that’s helpful to know. Our glass cutter isn’t overly expensive, and the same technique works pretty well with a £10 diamond scribe, but there’s very definitely a knack to it, that is not easy to convey other than in person! I smashed up ten or twenty microscope slides before I got the hang of it…