Petrographic OFM v7 first build

Hi everyone,
I am a Canadian geologist with academia and industry experience. In my work, I collect a large amount of petrographic slides from surface samples. I have found that it is difficult to share information amongst colleagues that do not have access to a petrographic microscope. Common tools allow you to produce low resolution scans, or select high resolution photos taken with a microscope. My objective is to modify an OFM microscope to be able to scan the full surface of a petrographic slide in one or two sessions (46 x 26 mm) with a moderate magnification (10x). In order to understand the capability of the system, I have built an upright OFM v7 with no further modifications. Prior to making changes to the body to improve the stage range of motion, I wanted to share some notes from my build and also ask some question about the optics.

I have built the microscope over 3 evenings with no significant issues. I used TauLab’s Sangaboard and illumination system. Great communication and fast shipping. Highly recommended. Otherwise I used a raspberry 4B and the module 2 camera. I sourced the doublet lens from Surplus Shed (13 mm dia. 49 mm FL achromat doublet lens) and the nuts, bolts and Viton rings from McMasterCarr (USA). Here are the mistakes I made during the build:
(1) I broke one of the hinge of the flexure system, on the stepper motor side, when trying to fit the nuts in the stage but did not notice it until I had assembled the mechanical parts. This essentially limits the effective range of one of the axis. I had a spare body so I quickly re-traced the building steps the next day.
(2) I ordered a 30 cm pi-camera cable but it is too short. You need at least 50 cm for an upright build with an infinity corrected module.
(3) I connected the led module to the wrong port. I found the best information about where to connect the led module on the Sangaboard is on the forum. I would suggest adding a photo to the instructions.