Nano + wires everywhere build -> Not sure about Sangaboard firmware

I am testing the 3 stepper motors using the Arduino IDE loaded w/ sangaboard.cpp. The gears wouldn’t spin with the “StepperF_alt.h” . The motors DO run when I replace the setSpeed() and step() commands to be from Arduino’s <Stepper.h>.

Advice appreciated. Thank you.

You need to have all three files from the repository in the Arduino IDE. This should automatically happen if you have the three files in a directory and open the sangaboard.ino in the Arduino IDE.

Then load the sangaboard.ino onto your nano and it uses the .cpp and .h to compile to the correct code.

Thank you @WilliamW. I apologize for not being clear (note: To set context, i’ve been using the Arduino IDE for many years off-n-on so I am familiar with needing all the files, etc.).

When the sangaboard code wouldn’t move the motors, I wrote a test that used Arduino’s <Stepper.h> and was able to move the three motors. The motors do not move with Stepper_Alt.h which seems to be a modification of Stepper.h. Is it possible to use <Stepper.h>?

1 Like

Hmm. It should just work then, although I have not loaded a new one for a while. I believe that you do need the modified stepper library to use the Openflexure server.

Well…I put the champagne away after finishing the build…and find myself bumbling about the details of 28BYJ motors…which of course are as fascinating as any microbe might be…

I’ll look for unit tests and the like.

Wonder also if the torque required to move the small gear/big gear is more than what this tiny motor can handle? How to you make sure the actuator step ensures the gears will turn with the low low power of the 28BYJ motor? (Thank you and apologize for being clueless).

1 Like

They move quite slowly and appear to be strong enough. In practice no-one has raised an issue that the motors are missing steps, so there is no automated testing.