4x Objective lens can't focus

Hello, I’m new to the openflexure microscope. Thanks to lots of people built up this system, I’ve made my system. Now I found that I cannot focus with my 4x objective lens(Olympus UPLFLN 4X Objective), but can focus with my 10x objective lens(Olympus UPLFLN 10X Objective). Both of their parfocalizing distance are 45mm, and I use the beamsplitter with the infinity one. How could I fix the problem? Thanks!

Hi @Appendix890421. If you can get the 10x to focus there is nothing particularly different about a 4x as you have the same series with the same par-focal distance. It might just be a question of speed and range of motion. The microscope actuators are designed with 40-100x magnification in mind. Motion feels a bit slow at 20x as the field of view in x-y and depth of field in z are so much more. With 4x it may be just that moving from out of focus to in focus is a huge number of steps.

Alternatively is the 4x fully seated in the optics module and straight, so that the par-focal distance starts from the right place? When it cannot focus, are you finding it coming to one end of the z travel? I assume that you are having to take the module out to change lenses?

A picture may help to understand what the issue might be.

@WilliamW Thanks for your reply. First, I used a 10x objective lens for focusing.

After completing the focus, I switched to a 4x objective lens but couldn’t achieve focus.

I tried raising the sample by approximately 3.5cm to get focus.

The pictures were very important! I thought 3.5cm was a typo for 3.5mm until I saw the last picture :slight_smile:
With 3.5 cm above the stage and at least 10mm below, that is a working distance of 45mm, rather than a parfocal distance to the lens shoulder of 45mm.