Delta v.1 Build Questions

Firstly, I just want to say how amazing the Openflexure project is and how inspiring it is to see really great design so dramatically increase accessibility to a technology.

I’ve built a motorized microscope and am enjoying it immensely, and am now in the process of building a Delta v.1 with reflection illumination. I apologize if this is an overly simple question (I’m a biologist, not an engineer :slightly_smiling_face:), but I noticed the instructions call for powering the star LED with a separate power supply rather than through the Raspberry Pi GPIO pins, is it possible to power the star LED this way?

Thank you!

The Pi GPIO pins can only supply quite a small current. This is enough for a small LED, but if you get it wrong you break the Pi. The star LEDs . As you already have a motorised version you have a 5V supply that you can easily access.

Thanks @jakwin!

I think the normal reason that LEDs are in the star package is that they are high power and may need a heatsink in some applications. Due to the high power of the LEDs they may damage the pi.

I think the point comes back to something we are seeing more and more: We need some good standardised electronics. It would be great to see a later version of the Sangaboard have the capacity to power the pi and have the flexibility to drive other higher power peripherals. However, baby steps, we first need to find a way to produce Sangaboards so they are readily available.

That’s great you’re enjoying it!

Agreeing with the above, some of the star LEDS can draw up to 1.5A and require a forward voltage >3V, which the Raspberry Pi GPIO pins can not support. I recommend you use a variable power supply and start by keeping the currrent low as at full power they get very bright and hot.