Adding GRBL to the openflexure server

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to announce, that I have started integrating a GRBL-based stage into the beautiful openflexure server system. There are many things to be done, but so far it works quite ok. It works with the standard Arduino + CNC Shield v3. The current forked version can be found here:

If you have anything you would like to see in there, I would be happy to take this as an opportunity to improve the code! (I’m not a programmer unfortunately :wink:

Thanks a lot for the development of this great tool!!

Best
Benedict

2 Likes

That’s very cool! There are definitely a few others who would be interested in that, as I guess it makes NEMA stepper motors a usable alternative.

Really cool. I do worry about doing large amounts of development where the pipelines fail and the build system has been totally changed. I see that this work is being done in you master branch but that the first thing that is done is removing all of the poetry files and creating a setup.py based install interface. I also see that the camera work and the GRBL work is done in this same master branch.

As both of these will require significant testing before they can be merged it would be good if they were each in feature branches, and used poetry so that all of the tests we do on GitLab can run.

I am not saying this to discourage you. I think this work is fantastic. I just don’t want you to pour in tonnes of work in a way that we cannot easily merge. Happy to have a call about branches, and tests etc if this will help. Personally I also know setup.py not poetry so I can’t explain it, but Joel has good distribution reasons for using poetry so it would be good to get this to work on that.

I’d just like to second this. Our use of Poetry in particular has been thought though extensively, and is related to our strict requirement for both distributing with pinned dependencies, while also allowing developers to easily upgrade these dependencies.